Tanzania Airport List | Odyssey Safaris

The mainland (excluding Zanzibar) has 26 airports. The Tanzania Airports Authority (TAA) operates all the airports except for Kilimanjaro International, which is managed by the state owned Kilimanjaro Airport Development Company (KADCO).

Tanzania Mainland

LocationRegionICAOIATAAirport nameRunway (m)Surface
ArushaArusha RegionHTARARKArusha Airport1,620Asphalt
BukobaKagera RegionHTBUBKZBukoba Airport1,325Asphalt
Dar es SalaamDar es Salaam RegionHTDADARJulius Nyerere International Airport3,000Asphalt
DodomaDodoma RegionHTDODODDodoma Airport2,020Asphalt
Hai DistrictKilimanjaro RegionHTKJJROKilimanjaro International Airport3,600Asphalt
IbadakuliShinyanga RegionHTSYSHYShinyanga Airport2,000
Kilwa MasokoLindi RegionHTKIKIYKilwa Masoko Airport1,800
Lake ManyaraArusha RegionHTLMLKYLake Manyara Airport1,220
LindiLindi RegionHTLILDILindi Airport1,748
Mafia IslandPwani RegionHTMAMFAMafia Airport1,500Asphalt
MasasiMtwara RegionHTMIXMIMasasi Airport1,275
MbeyaMbeya RegionHTMBMBIMbeya Airport1,569
MbeyaMbeya RegionHTGWSongwe Airport3,330Asphalt
MoshiKilimanjaro RegionHTMSQSIMoshi Airport1,569
MpandaKatavi RegionHTMPMpanda Airport1,820Asphalt
MtwaraMtwara RegionHTMTMYWMtwara Airport2,260Asphalt
MusomaMara RegionHTMUMUZMusoma Airport1,600
MwanzaMwanza RegionHTMWMWZMwanza Airport3,010Asphalt
NachingweaLindi RegionHTNANCHNachingwea Airport1,795
NduliIringa RegionHTIRIRIIringa Airport1,670Asphalt
NgaraKagera RegionHTNRNgara Airport1,445
SongeaRuvuma RegionHTSOSGXSongea Airport1,617Asphalt
SumbawangaRukwa RegionHTSUSUTSumbawanga Airport1,428
TaboraTabora RegionHTTBTBOTabora Airport1,786Asphalt
TangaTanga RegionHTTGTGTTanga Airport1,255Asphalt
UjijiKigoma RegionHTKATKQKigoma Airport1,794Asphalt


Airports in the Zanzibar Archipelago are under the jurisdiction of the Zanzibar Airports Authority.

LocationRegionICAOIATAAirport nameRunway (m)
Pemba IslandSouth Pemba RegionHTPEPMAPemba Airport1,517
Unguja IslandZanzibar Central/South RegionHTZAZNZAbeid Amani Karume International Airport3,007


LocationRegionICAOIATAAirstrip nameRunway (m)Operated by
LoliondoArusha RegionHTLDLoliondo Airstrip1,535TAA
Mikumi National ParkMorogoro RegionHTKikoboga AirstripTANAPA
MomboTanga RegionHTMOMombo AirstripTAA
MorogoroMorogoro RegionHTMGMorogoro Airstrip1,000TAA
Kilimanjaro National ParkKilimanjaro RegionHTWKWest Kilimanjaro Airstrip1,244TAA
Ruaha National ParkIringa RegionHTMRMsembe Airstrip1,288TANAPA
Rubondo Island National ParkMwanza RegionRubondo Airstrip1,242TANAPA
SameKilimanjaro RegionHTSESame Airstrip750TAA
Selous Game ReservePwani RegionHTMtemere Airstrip.MNRT
SeroneraMara RegionHTSNSEUSeronera Airstrip1,570TANAPA
SingidaSingida RegionHTSDSingida Airstrip1057TAA
Songo Songo IslandLindi RegionHTSongo Songo Airstrip1050TPDC

Military airbases

  • Mwanza Air Force Base, Mwanza
  • Ngerengere Air Force Base, Morogoro Region
  • Ukonga Air Force Base, Dar es Salaam

Proposed airports

  • Msalato International Airport, Dodoma (capital)
  • Kajunguti International Airport, Kagera Region
  • Serengeti International Airport, Mugumu

Source: Tanzania Tourist Board – Plan Your Trip

 Odyssey Insider

Start Planning

Is Africa calling to you? There’s no pressure, no cost, no commitments – and you’ll always talk to one of our experts.

error: Content is protected !!